Numbers Game

Numbers Gameblog

Latest research and trends from around the financial advisory business, updated regularly highlighting stats, charts, infographics and all things data.

Custodians and clearing firms ranked by number of clients

New data gathered by InvestmentNews shows how these firms stack up

Aug 9, 2015 @ 12:01 am

By InvestmentNews Data

Custodians ranked by number of RIA custody clients

FirmWebsiteHead of RIA custody business2015 # of clients% change vs. 2014Assets under custody ($M)% change vs. 2014Minimum assets of advisers
Schwab Advisor Serviceshttp://www.advisorservices.schwab.com Bernie Clark (Executive vice president and head)7,1001.4%$1,136,500.05.1%N/D
TD Ameritrade Institutionalhttp://www.tdainstitutional.comThomas Nally (President)5,00011.1%N/DN/AN/A
Interactive Brokershttp://www.interactivebrokers.comAndrea Nagy (Sales engineer)2,90920.0%$10,800.020.0%None
Shareholders Service Grouphttp://www.ssginstitutional.comPeter Mangan (CEO)1,41112.4%N/DN/ANone
Trade-PMR Inc.http://www.tradepmr.comRobb W. Baldwin (President, CEO)1,132-25.8%N/DN/ANone
Scottrade Advisor Serviceshttp://advisor.scottrade.comBrian Stimpfl (Senior Vice President, Scottrade Advisor Services)1,000-9.1%N/DN/ANone
Pershing Advisors Solutionshttp://www.pershing.com/who-we-serve/registered-investment-advisorsMark Tibergien (CEO)5915.2%$168,500.017.3%$100M
Folio Institutionalhttp://www.folioinstitutional.comGreg Vigrass (President, Folio Institutional)40725.2%N/DN/ANone
LPL Financialhttp://www.joinlpl.comMatthew Enyedi (SVP RIA Services)34221.3%$105,000.034.6%None
U.S. Bankhttp://www.usbank.com/itcAlan M Markarian (Senior Vice President)23015.0%$73,000.07.4%$100,000
Trust Company of Americahttp://www.trustamerica.comJoshua Pace (President, CEO)2106.1%$13,600.01.5%None
National Advisors Trust Co.http://www.nationaladvisorstrust.comJames A. Combs (CEO)1799.8%$9,970.94.6%None
RBC Advisor Serviceshttp://www.rbc-as.comCatie Tobin (Head of RBC Correspondent & Advisor Services)96-2.0%$13,550.04.2%$50M
National Financial Services Fidelity Clearing and Custody*http://fiws.fidelity.comBob Oros (Executive Vice President, Head of RIA Segment)N/DN/AN/DN/AN/A

As of June 30. N/A = not available N/D = Not disclosed *As of June 30, 2015, National Financial Services Fidelity Clearing and Custody had 3,200 total clients. Firm did not break out RIA custody clients from clearing clients.

Clearing firms ranked by numer of broker-dealer clients served

FirmWeb site# of clients% changeContact(s)PhoneE-mail
Pershinghttps://www.pershing.com/who-we-serve/broker-dealers772-4.8%Michael Row (Managing director)http://www.pershing.com/contact/
RBC Correspondent Serviceshttp://www.rbc-cs.com1800.0%Greg Plifka (Director of Business Development)(888) 524-9800greg.plifka@rbc.com
Merrill Lynch Professional Clearing Corp. & Broadcorthttp://www.broadcort.com143-17.3%Gary Yetman (Managing director at MLPro); Anthony Vella (Director of Sales)(646) 743-1222/646-743-0955gary.yetman@baml.com/anthony.j.vella@baml.com
Southwest Securities Inc.http://www.swst.com135-6.9%Lana Calton (Head of Clearing Services)(214) 859-9228lcalton@swst.com
Wedbush Securities Inc.http://www.wedbush.com1200.0%Sean Thompson (Senior Vice President, Advanced Clearing Services)(213) 688-4567Sean.Thompson@wedbush.com
Apex Clearing Corp.http://www.apexclearing.com10025.0%Todd Shroeder (Head of Sales)(214) 765-1010sales@apexclearing.com
COR Clearinghttp://www.corclearing.com100-4.8%Roy DiMaria (Director Business Development)732-635-2496roy.dimaria@corclearing.com
Sterne Agee Clearing Inc. http://www.sterneagee.com80-8.0%Damon B Joyner (President, CEO); Patricia A Jamison (Chief Operating Officer)(205) 271-6208/(205) 776-2917djoyner@sterneagee.com/pjamison@sterneagee.com
First Clearinghttp://www.firstclearing.com77-3.8%David L. Williams (Managing Director)(888) 322-2532david.l.williams@firstclearing.com
Goldman Sachs Execution & Clearinghttp://www.goldmansachs.com75-17.6%Kyle Czepiel (Managing director)(212) 357-2802kyle.czepiel@gs.com
Raymond James & Associates Inc.http://www.raymondjamesclearing.com408.1%Robb Combs (Director of Correspondent Services)(727) 567-3990robb.combs@raymondjames.com
LPL Financialhttp://www.lpl.com60.0%Arthur Osman (Executive vice president, clearing services)(704) 733-3300 ext. 3852arthur.osman@lpl.com
National Financial Services Fidelity Clearing and Custodyhttp://www.nationalfinancial.comN/DN/ADave Brown (Senior Vice President, National Sales Manager); Sanjiv Mirchandani (President, Fidelity Clearing and Custody(212) 335-5064david.brown.nf@fmr.com

Source for both charts: InvestmentNews Data

0
Comments

What do you think?

X

Subscribe and Save 60%

Premium Access
Print + Digital

Learn more
Subscribe to Print