The largest clearing firms for broker-dealers

Ranked by number of broker-dealer clients

Jul 15, 2012 @ 12:01 am

  
Rank Firm Website # of clients % change vs. 2011 Contact Phone Email
1 Pershing LLC pershing.com 831 -0.6% James T. Crowley, managing director (201) 413-2564 brokerage.info@pershing.com
2 National Financial Services LLC nationalfinancial.com 276 -5.2% Joe Kelly, head of sales (617) 563-8738 joseph.kelly.nf@fmr.com
3 J.P. Morgan Clearing Corp. jpmorgan.com/bds 238 12.8% Curt Richmond, managing director (212) 552-1765 curt.richmond@jpmorgan.com
4 Broadcort & Merrill Lynch Professional Clearing Corp. broadcort.com 214 -16.1% Michael Bird, managing director at Broadcort; Gary Yetman, managing director at MLPro (646) 855-3507; (646) 743-1222 m.bird@baml.com; gary.yetman@baml.com
5 RBC Correspondent Services* rbc-cs.com 180 5.9% Craig Gordon, director (612) 371-7776 craig.gordon@rbc.com
6 Wedbush Securities Inc. wedbush.com 160 0.0% Sean Thompson, senior vice president of advanced clearing services (213) 688-4567 sean.thompson@wedbush.com
7 Southwest Securities Inc. swsclearing.com 157 -4.8% Anton Berends, head of clearing services (214) 859-9310 aberends@swst.com
8 Goldman Sachs Execution and Clearing LP** gsec.com 150 -14.3% Kyle Czepiel, managing director (212) 357-2802 kyle.czepiel@gs.com
9 Sterne Agee Clearing Inc. sterneagee.com 112 1.8% Dennis Ferguson, vice chairman (800) 264-4863 dferguson@sterneagee.com
10 First Clearing LLC firstclearing.com 90 -3.2% David L. Williams, managing director (888) 322-2532 david.l.williams@firstclearing.com
11 FirstSouthwest Co. firstswclearing.com 80 6.7% Joseph Turk, regional vice president; Paul Bashus, regional vice president (917) 206-3667; (866) 299-8755 joe.turk@firstsw.com; paul.bashus@firstsw.com
12 Legent Clearing LLC legentclearing.com 73 -8.8% Steve Dripchak, vice president of sales (866) 770-0218 steve.dripchak@legentclearing.com
13 Raymond James & Associates Inc. raymondjames.com/clearing 39 2.6% Robb Combs, director of correspondent services (727) 567-3990 robb.combs@raymondjames.com
14 LPL Financial Custom Clearing Services lpl.com 5 -28.6% David Akellian, executive vice president and head of custom clearing services (858) 450-9606 ext. 6865 david.akellian@lpl.com
In June, Apex Clearing agreed to acquire the correspondent and customer accounts and contracts of the securities division within Penson's U.S. broker-dealer subsidiary, Penson Financial Services Inc. Apex declined to participate in the survey. As of June 30. *On March 2, RBC Correspondent Services acquired Mesirow Financial Inc.'s clearing business. Number of clients reflects acquisition. **Number of clients is a company estimate Source: InvestmentNews Data

Featured video

INTV

Why advisers are pessimistic about the economy

Deputy editor Bob Hordt and senior research analyst Matt Sirinides discuss a recent InvestmentNews survey of advisers, most of whom see a recession ahead before the next presidential election.

Latest news & opinion

John Bogle, Vanguard founder, dies at 89

The pioneer of low-cost, passive investments died of cancer.

10 biggest breakaways of Q4

Echelon Partners lists the 10 biggest adviser moves out of wirehouses during last year's final quarter.

6 biggest RIA acquisitions of 2018

As M&A involving registered investment advisers hit another record last year, these six deals topped the list

Anatomy of an annuity buyout offer

Readers are invited to comment on whether the columnist should keep or ditch her Ohio National VA contract

Factions emerge in OneFPA overhaul

Critics fear the FPA is trying to take money and power from local chapters, which officials and proponents call overblown.

X

Hi! Glad you're here and we hope you like all the great work we do here at InvestmentNews. But what we do is expensive and is funded in part by our sponsors. So won't you show our sponsors a little love by whitelisting investmentnews.com? It'll help us continue to serve you.

Yes, show me how to whitelist investmentnews.com

Ad blocker detected. Please whitelist us or give premium a try.

X

Subscribe and Save 60%

Premium Access
Print + Digital

Learn more
Subscribe to Print