Skip Schweiss of TD Ameritrade elected 2020 president of FPA

Financial Planning Association also elects four new board members

Oct 16, 2019 @ 3:39 pm

By InvestmentNews

The Financial Planning Association has elected Skip Schweiss, president of TD Ameritrade Trust Co., as its 2020 president for a one-year term. Mr. Schweiss, whose term will begin Jan. 1, 2020, succeeds 2019 FPA President Martin C. Seay.

[More: SEC clears up confusion over whether advisers can continue to call themselves fiduciaries]

In addition to his duties at his firm's trust company, Mr. Schweiss serves as managing director of adviser advocacy and industry affairs for TD Ameritrade Institutional. He is currently completing a three-year term on the FPA board of directors.

[Recommended video: Where does the fiduciary rule stand?]

The FPA board also elected four new members to serve on its board for three-year terms: Robert van Beek, founder and director of About Life & Finance B.V. in Roosendaal, Netherlands; Susan Danzig, president of Susan Danzig in Moraga, Calif.; Claudia Cypher Kane, financial adviser at Raymond James Financial Services in Roseville, Calif.; and Carl A. Wayne, senior adviser in the charitable estate planning area at the American Heart Association in Los Angeles.

Investing in profitability, performance and people: Register for our Top Advisory Firm Summit.


What do you think?

View comments

Recommended next


Hi! Glad you're here and we hope you like all the great work we do here at InvestmentNews. But what we do is expensive and is funded in part by our sponsors. So won't you show our sponsors a little love by whitelisting It'll help us continue to serve you.

Yes, show me how to whitelist

Ad blocker detected. Please whitelist us or give premium a try.


Subscribe and Save 60%

Premium Access
Print + Digital

Learn more
Subscribe to Print