50 largest financial planning firms

Oct 11, 2009 @ 12:01 am

50 largest financial planning firms

Leading registered investment advisory firms that provide financial planning services to individual investors, $ in millions

Click column headers to sort fields

Rank Firm name Total assets Total accounts Discretionary assets Discretionary accounts Investment advisers Clients City/State Website
1 Stancorp Investment Advisers Inc. 15,457.60 18,694 6,259.80 14,621 11/1/1950 500+ Portland, OR stancorpadvisers.com
2 Cambridge Investment Research Advisors Inc. 12,502.70 84,871 4,907.40 32,605 501-1000 500+ Fairfield, IA cir2.com
3 Moneta Group Investment Advisors LLC 6,535.20 17,925 61.3 986 11/1/1950 500+ Clayton, MO monetagroup.com
4 Oxford Financial Group Ltd. 6,467.10 3,771 69.5 4 11/1/1950 500+ Carmel, IN ofgltd.com
5 Sontag Advisory LLC 5,313.40 8,766 915.6 2,677 6/10/2009 500+ New York, NY sontagadvisory.com
6 Plante Moran Financial Advisors 4,606.40 1,939 2,299.50 1,236 11/1/1950 500+ Southfield, MI pmfa.com
7 Ronald Blue & Co. LLC 4,243.80 12,344 4,232.60 12,244 51-250 500+ Roswell, GA ronblue.com
8 Edelman Financial Services LLC 4,048.60 35,993 3,573.80 23,993 51-250 500+ Fairfax, VA edelmanfinancial.com
9 Clarfeld Financial Advisors Inc. 2,630.80 2,323 185.1 130 11/1/1950 251-500 Tarrytown, NY clarfeld.com
10 1st Global Advisors Inc. 2,363.50 9,166 958.4 4,058 > 1000 500+ Dallas, TX 1stglobal.com
11 GW & Wade LLC 2,178.90 5,641 1,718.30 4,072 11/1/1950 500+ Wellesley, MA gwwade.com
12 Harris SBSB 2,050.00 900 1,950.00 800 11/1/1950 500+ McLean, VA harris-sbsb.com
13 R.M. Davis Inc. 1,793.00 3,115 1,780.50 3,101 11/1/1950 500+ Portland, ME rmdavis.com
14 Homrich Berg 1,699.10 2,923 1,610.50 2,822 11/1/1950 500+ Atlanta, GA homrichberg.com
15 Atherton Lane Advisers LLC 1,425.60 643 1,295.30 567 11/1/1950 500+ Menlo Park, CA athertonlane.com
16 Joel Isaacson & Co. Inc. 1,355.50 2,831 495.8 588 11/1/1950 500+ New York, NY joelisaacson.com
17 Allegheny Financial Group Ltd. 1,247.00 3,574 1,222.00 947 11/1/1950 500+ Pittsburgh, PA alleghenyfinancial.com
18 United Capital Financial Advisers 1,214.90 4,500 1,214.90 4,500 11/1/1950 500+ Newport Beach, CA unitedcp.com
19 Family Management Corp. 1,173.60 1,599 1,018.70 1,526 11/1/1950 500+ New York, NY familymanage.com
20 JMG Financial Group Ltd. 806.2 1,627 746.2 1,513 11/1/1950 500+ Oak Brook, IL jmgfinancial.com
21 Cain Watters & Associates 779.8 5,345 0 0 11/1/1950 500+ Dallas, TX cainwatters.com
22 Parsec Financial Management Inc. 749.7 3,885 682.4 3,660 11/1/1950 500+ Asheville, NC parsecfinancial.com
23 Cassaday & Co. Inc. 718.2 2,493 711 2,473 11/1/1950 500+ McLean, VA cassaday.com
24 Trustcore Financial Services Inc. 714.8 8,504 0.8 4 11/1/1950 500+ Brentwood, TN trustcore.com
25 Creative Financial Group Ltd. 639 1,176 340.5 673 11/1/1950 500+ Atlanta, GA cfgltd.com
26 John G. Ullman & Associates Inc. 606 1,025 606 1,025 11/1/1950 500+ Corning, NY jgua.com
27 California Financial Advisors 592.2 2,313 366.9 1,343 6/10/2009 500+ San Ramon, CA calfinad.com
28 Pinnacle Advisory Group Inc. 531 2,150 531 2,150 11/1/1950 500+ Columbia, MD pinnacleadvisory.com
29 Bloom Asset Management Inc. 512 4,019 512 4,019 6/10/2009 500+ Farmington Hills, MI bloomassetmanagement.com
30 ARS Financial Services Inc. 509.1 1,475 26.2 128 6/10/2009 500+ Jericho, NY arsfinancial.com
31 Strategic Point Investment Advisors LLC 502.1 3,991 502.1 3,991 6/10/2009 500+ Providence, RI strategicpoint.com
32 Private Wealth Advisors 492.3 2,195 432.6 2,189 11/1/1950 500+ Pittsburgh, PA pwausa.com
33 Sigma Planning Corp. 468 5,975 418 5,500 501-1000 500+ Ann Arbor, MI spc4clients.com
34 Wealthtrust Arizona 429.9 2,617 352.2 1,934 11/1/1950 500+ Scottsdale, AZ wealthtrust-arizona.com
35 Professional Planning Group 363.6 1,116 299.1 820 6/10/2009 500+ Westerly, RI ppgadvisors.com
36 Hufford Financial Advisors LLC 316.3 1,672 316.3 1,672 11/1/1950 500+ Indianapolis, IN huffordfinancial.com
37 Ciccarelli Advisory Services Inc. 285.6 1,358 0 0 11/1/1950 500+ Naples, FL casmoneymatters.com
38 Retirement Investment Advisors Inc. 285.2 854 52.7 68 1/5/2009 500+ Oklahoma City, OK wealthtrac.com
39 Financial Security Advisory Inc. 282.3 2,713 282.3 2,713 6/10/2009 500+ Virginia Beach, VA gofsg.com
40 The Planners Network Inc. 275.1 2,209 110.1 1,080 11/1/1950 500+ Temecula, CA theplannersnetwork.com
41 Corrigan Financial Inc. 256 790 256 790 6/10/2009 500+ Middletown, RI corriganfinancialinc.com
42 LJPR LLC 240.2 1,644 240.2 1,644 6/10/2009 500+ Troy, MI ljpr.com
43 Ifrah Financial Services Inc. 209.7 828 209.7 828 6/10/2009 500+ Little Rock, AR ifrahfinancial.com
44 MPS-Loria Financial Planners LLC 201.5 2,000 0 0 6/10/2009 251-500 Burr Ridge, IL mpsloria.com
45 Chatterton & Associates 182.7 540 0 0 1/5/2009 500+ Orange, CA chattertoninc.com
46 AKJ Asset Management LLC 171.8 495 160.2 461 1/5/2009 500+ Palo Alto, CA akjasset.com
47 Educators Financial Services Inc. 168 6,858 168 6,858 11/1/1950 500+ Cambridge, MN tsainvest.com
48 Center for Financial Planning Inc. 159.7 416 854.9 24 6/10/2009 500+ Southfield, MI centerfinplan.com
49 Southern Financial Group LLC 147.1 1,285 147.1 1,285 1/5/2009 500+ Birmingham, AL thesouthernfinancialgroup.com
50 Guerin Financial Services Ltd. 140.3 974 140.3 974 1/5/2009 251-500 Denver, CO guerinfinancial.com
RIAs qualified and ranked by RIA Database provide financial planning services, derive more than 50% of their business fSource: RIADatabase.com

X

Subscribe and SAVE over 72%

View our best offer
Subscribe to Print